Together At Last


 
Finally, after a year of living across the ocean from each other, our little family has been reunited. It was hard at times, but E and I had our share of fun in Japan spending time with family and exploring areas of Tokyo that I’d never been to before. I can only imagine how lonely K was during that time, living alone in a house for a year…

But finally. Finally.

Our family is under one roof again. And that is all that matters.

Of course, the fact that LA is our new home adds a bit of excitement to the mix. As a New Englander, living on the west coast is sort of like moving to a different country. I’m back in the States after living in Japan for 14 years, but everything feels new.

I think it’ll take a while for me to get used to life here, but I am so excited to explore LA and all that it has to offer.

(These photos were taken today at Redondo Beach.)

untitled
Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach
untitled
Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach
untitled
Redondo Beach
untitled

20 Comments

·

Leave a Reply

  1. Although it is totally different LA still has little pockets of Japan. So anything you miss about Japan you can for sure find there! We like to visit Mitsuwa when we go.

    I’m so excited for you! LA is going to be awesome and great weather most of the year!! So much to see and do there! So happy you all are reunited! I’m sure it’s wonderful to have your hubby with you again. I can’t wait we still have a few more weeks left, this move got so complicated all of a sudden! But still planning on heading out that way cause we have to drop our cars off in Longbeach maybe we can meet up at Downtown Disney or something haha!

    • Yeah, my husband was telling me that you can get basically anything at the Japanese supermarkets and 100-yen (or maybe I should say $1.50) shops that they have here. I was skeptical but now that I’ve seen those stores for myself, I realize he was telling me the truth!

      I hope things start moving along for you guys too!! Ganbatte!! You’ve made it through so many months–the final weeks will be over before you know it ;)

  2. I love Redondo Beach. Beautiful photos! Do you think you will get homesick to Japan? I got a bad case of homesickness to Japan after we moved to California, but at least there are loads of good Japanese restaurants and supermarkets to help ease the pain :).

    • Thanks! And yeah, I think I’ll probably get a little homesick. More so for my family than anything else though… Although it’s only been a few days and I’m already missing Japanese bread already!

  3. A whole year – I can imagine how hard that must have been. We were not separated from Cory nearly that long in the early stages of our UK move, but the few months we were apart were very difficult. I wouldn’t want to do it again! I’m so glad you’re reunited, finally. And in such a beautiful place! I’m really looking forward to hearing how you like California – and E, too! Hopefully she likes the beach! :)

    • We really didn’t think it would take this long to be reunited! But E and I were able to spend a lot of quality time with my family in Tokyo, which would never have happened if the situation were any different. So the year wasn’t totally wasted ;)

      And yes, E loved the beach! She was screaming-at-the-top-of-her-lungs happy. It’s a little too chilly to actually swim right now, so I can’t wait till she gets to experience the ocean for real once it’s warmer ;)

  4. I’m happy to hear you’re together again, and looking forward to California stories!
    PS: You’ll have to visit the Napa Valley and do a full report for this South African wine lover. :)

    • Thanks, Ru! It was a long year! And yes, I definitely plan on visiting Napa Valley sometime :) Of course, my “report” will probably be more about the scenery since I’m allergic to alcohol!

  5. Congratulations, yes you’re all under one roof now is the most important thing on earth! I’m very happy for you. Oh, LA has amazing beaches! I was there briefly in September and was blown away by the beaches and palm trees. xx

  6. Congrats!!! That’s really a happy news!
    I hope my family can be reunited….but maybe my husband need to live alone another year. sigh.

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas and love-filled holiday season with your family!!(^^)/

comments

