You are the Autumn

You are the Autumn
 
by Tyler Knott Gregson

It occurred
as occurring
and me
often dance
in the dim of morning
when even
the birds
have not yet begun to
sing
that you
are
and were
and will probably
be
always
the Autumn.

Omotesando

The sound
of your hair
drying
after a steam
filled and lingering
shower
is the sound
almost exactly
and to the
most precise
measurement
of a single leaf
curling upon itself
and shivering
slightly only
against the
oncoming hint
of what
Winter just might
bring.

Omotesando

Your breath
rises
and swirls
in and up
and through
and catches light
like the ribbons
of smokey
and earth stained
mist from
this cup of tea.

Omotesando

Maybe,
the occurrence
suggests,
like
ink merely suggests
that the water
it drips into
turn its shade
as well,
your hands are
leaves
and they will
tumble and fall
and my skin
can be the ground
still reflecting
the starlight
in morning.

autumn

Maybe
I suggest back,
like the last words
of a dying man
pleading for a moment
more,
they can fall
on
me.

Omotesando

You are
and cannot help
but be
the Autumn
to me. You are
the rolling
fog and the
way it covers you
without asking
permission
but still requiring
gratitude.

autumn

You are the sweater
and blanket
against the frost
and the way
you always appreciate
the warm cup
of warm tea
in cold hands
on cold dawns.

Omotesando

The thought
formed itself
and took root
and planted itself
in my mind
that you will be
are
were and cannot
quite help but
be
the Autumn
and I
freezing through
the winter
and shaking off
the moisture
and smell of new
life of Spring
and dripping
the sweat and
rising heat lines
off empty streets
in Summer,
wish to say this
to the breeze
and hope its carried
back to
you:
You are
the Autumn
and I wait
all year long
for
you.

Omotesando

8 Comments

·

Leave a Reply

  1. Thanks for sharing with me the beginning of winter. Sadly we don’t get much for seasons. So it’s so nice to see those beautiful colors! Maybe we can go to Japan in the off season lol and see those beautiful colors!

    • Glad to be able to share the fall colors with you! Fall is really slow this year in Tokyo though, and the colors aren’t as vibrant as I like, but I guess I shouldn’t complain since there are places (like where you are) that don’t get to get to experience the changing colors at all!

  2. “your hands are
    leaves
    and they will
    tumble and fall
    and my skin
    can be the ground
    still reflecting
    the starlight
    in morning”

    Oh, how beautiful. I don’t know where you found this, but I’m saving it. I love it.

    We must be on the same page today. The leaves are falling over on my blog today, too. :)

    • I’m glad you liked the poem! It’s by a talented writer named Tyler Knott Gregson. If you liked this one, you may enjoy reading some of his other work too! I actually stumbled upon his poetry on Pinterest, of all places ;)

      PS. Heading over to your blog now to check out those falling leaves!

  3. I am not very big on reading poems but your gorgeous photos actually encouraged me to read through this one…and I’m glad I did! I love the part that says “You are the sweater and blanket against the frost…” So beautiful! And perfect fit with your photos, too.

    PS: Isn’t the weather this weekend fantastic? I hope you’re having a good time :D

comments

