Humid Days and Sleepless Nights

Ebisu
 
The other night, E woke up about seven times, asked me to sing to her about five times, insisted I clean her ears about three times and cried that her sheets were wrinkled and dangerous to her health, once. Total hours of mama sleep for that night–approximately three.

Yes, motherhood is awesome. But hey! She did wake up past five am that day, so I really shouldn’t be complaining. (5:03 to be exact. Yeeeees! Seriously, the difference between seeing 4:59 and 5:03 on your clock when you wake up is just…unexplainable.)

Still, living on so little sleep all the time does make me exhausted and grouchy. And who wants to be around someone like that? Definitely not me. Poor E though, she has no choice but to deal with me day in and day out. It’s not good for either of us. So I figure, the best way for me to get over sleepless nights is to go outside. Something about being out and about just sort of resets my mood. Even if it means that I have to carry my little girl 95% of the time.

So even though it’s about a million degrees outside with humidity levels that threaten to make you feel like you’re choking in a sauna, outside we go.

Here are a few shots from our walk through Ebisu the other day.

Ebisu
Ebisu
Ebisu
Ebisu

Right now they have an igloo-shaped installation on display called The Love Letter Project.  The air-conditioned dome is a planetarium-type space with images of flowers and Japanese calligraphy swirling about. It was very cool but I only managed to get one shot before I started to feel nauseous. (Damn my motion sickness.)

Ebisu
Ebisu
Ebisu

And let me just finish this post by adding that although the bad nights make me want to scream and curl up in a fetal position, there are little nuggets of baby love that my little girl showers me with during those long hours that makes everything worthwhile.

Like the other day, after a particularly long bout of crying, she surprised me with a “Mommy, I love you sooooo much!” It’s one of her go-to phrases that’s sure to get a smile from me. And last night she whispered “itsumo arigatou” (which basically means, “thank you always for everything”) just as she was about to fall asleep.

Yeah. I know I’ve got it pretty good.

9 Comments

·

Leave a Reply

  1. Aw, sweet girl! BUT poor mamma!! Hopefully, she will start sleeping a little later for you soon!! I remember my daughter doing the early bird schedule for a while but she eventually transitioned to a 7am, which I felt was the greatest day of my life the first time it happened! :-) Amazing photos too, as always!

    • Thank you so much! I hope that day comes soon… I’ve been on this schedule for over a year now. It’s currently 4:03 am, still dark out, and yes, my day has already started. Sigh. But I guess we can catch the sunrise again? That’s always good :)

  2. Yes you most certainly do! I love the last shot of you and E-chan! Oh my so too cute! It’s so amazing the wonderful gift our children bring us even when they push us to our limits. I’m glad you had a wonderful time with her. I love the shot of your feet!

    • Thanks, Dina! They definitely do push us to our limits! But it’s like she knows I need some encouragement every now and then and says the sweetest things out of the blue. Strange, isn’t it? Or maybe it isn’t?

      • Maybe they can see when you are at your wits end and do stuff like that. :) I know that my little boy starts giving more hugs when he notices I’m feeling down about my hubby being away. My husband is home for a couple of weeks and my son has been attached to him. Like he knows that his Dad needs him. Our kids are amazing!

        • I’m sure he does know that his father needs him! Kids really are amazing. So aware. So thoughtful at the most important moments. My husband is visiting for a week, too. He’s coming back tomorrow so E has been ecstatic for days :)

  3. I get motion sickness too, I was beginning to think I was the only adult on the planet with it, lol. Gosh, 5 am… Anyway it was nice that she said such a lovely phrase after the day.

  4. 泣けた。

    子供の可愛さは
    育児の大変さを
    はるかに超えてくる。

    この小さい生き物のpowerはすごいね。
    Eの言葉に私まで元気ななったよ。

comments

