Godzilla at Tokyo Midtown

Tokyo Midtown
 
Over the weekend, I went to Tokyo Midtown, a gorgeous mall that uses tons of natural light and beautiful wood throughout its interior. I’ve never actually gotten anything there though, because most of the shops are on the expensive side. Actually, if you watch carefully, you’ll probably notice that even if the place looks crowded, the shops themselves are rarely packed.

Then why do I bother to go, you ask? Well, I usually go to eat Indian curry at Nirvana. But also, clean, enclosed spaces like these are the perfect places to let E run wild without worrying about cars and bicycles (it’s what I like to call hanashigai, which is Japanese for “let out to free-range.”)

It was especially festive this weekend because they still had some decorations up for Tanabata, the Japanese Star Festival. (*Edit* My friend Kaori informed me that these aren’t just any old Tanabata decorations. They’re from a festival called Kanto Matsuri, which is celebrated in the Tohoku (Northeastern) region of Japan from August 3rd to August 6th.)

Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown

There’s also a nice little park in the back, with slides, swings, a little pond, and even a mini Japanese tea house type of place. Right now they also have an enormous statue of Godzilla busting out of the ground. He’s there to celebrate the upcoming Hollywood screen version of Godzilla.

E was equally horrified and delighted by the sight of him. She kept on yelling, “Uboite! Uboite!” which is her way of saying ugoite, or “move!” It was scorching hot, but I think it’s safe to say that E had a pretty good time.

Tokyo Midtown

Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown
Tokyo Midtown

4 Comments

·

Leave a Reply

  1. Oh, I’ve been wanting to go to Midtown to see the Tohoku festival decorations! My parents used to live in Akita so I have a fondness for the lanterns from Kanto Matsuri (竿灯祭り). You captured them in your photos beautifully and now I REALLY want to go! :D

    PS* I love that photo of E from behind! She looks like a tiny mademoiselle, what a sweetheart!

    • Thanks, Kaori :) I love that photo of E from behind too–she runs like a little obasan. Haha. And thanks for telling me about Kanto Matsuri! I was completely oblivious and figured the decorations were just from Tanabata. I just did a quick search and wow, what an amazing festival! I’ll have to add some info to the post! Thanks ;)

  2. E-Chan wa honto ni kawaii!!!

    I have never been to that mall before! But I like any place that i can let my son run wild and free.

    Love your images!

    The image of E from behind is sooo cute!

comments

